Date 10.11.2010

After six years of joined efforts between experts from EUROCONTROL’s Directorate of civil-military ATM coordination and experts from the member States, the Pre-Implementation Edition of the EUROCONTROL Specifications for harmonised Rules for Operational Air Traffic under Instrument Flight Rules inside controlled Airspace of the ECAC Area (EUROAT) has now been submitted to the States.

EUROCONTROL member States requested through the Civil-Military Interface Standing Committee (CMIC), to harmonise the national Rules for Operational Air Traffic (OAT) under Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) inside controlled Airspace at the European scale. The EUROAT is designed to provide this harmonised and standardised regulatory framework in line with the intent of the SES Framework Regulation and its statement of Member States regarding the enhancement of civil-military cooperation and the facilitation of cooperation between their armed forces in all ATM matters.

With the EUROAT, one of the first IP 1 deliverables of the ATM Master Plan has been produced and provided to the member States for implementation. However, since OAT is a matter of national sovereignty, the intended achievement to conduct OAT-IFR in Europe under a single set of rules will depend on the magnitude of national implementation. The aim is to achieve a widespread national implementation across Europe and a resulting entry into force of the EUROAT around 1 October 2011.

“The EUROAT is intended to become a single source document for aircrews flying under OAT within the airspace of Europe and to provide Air Traffic Control Officers with enhanced predictability on military aircrew actions under normal and emergency conditions”, said Jean Robert Cazarré, Director Civil-Military ATM Coordination and SES Implementation. “Therefore, due to the achieved regulatory harmonisation, the level of safety will increase within the airspace of all Member States that have implemented the EUROAT”, he concluded.

For further information, please contact:
Kyla Evans/Catherine De Smedt, Tel: +32 2 729 50 95

For more information via the website:

Note to Editors:
EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, has as its primary objective to develop a seamless, pan-European air traffic management (ATM) system that fully copes with the growth in air traffic, while maintaining a high level of safety, reducing costs and respecting the environment.

EUROCONTROL has 38 Member States: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

On 8 October 2002, the Member States and the European Community signed a Protocol on the Accession of the European Community to the revised EUROCONTROL Convention. Pending its entry into force after ratification by all Parties, certain provisions of the Protocol are already being provisionally applied.


EUROCONTROL Headquarters
Rue de la Fusee
are based in Brussels,
96 B-1130